Psion ii keyboard

Feel free to discuss any Organiser II related topic here
Gromit337

Psion ii keyboard

Post by Gromit337 »

Hi,

I'm just starting out with the Psion 2 organiser, using an old XP model. I'm more used to the SIBO machines, 3, 3A, Siena and the Series 5, so the keyboard of the 2 is really frustrating. Is it possible to remap the keyboard to a more conventional layout? I'm not a programmer, other than a bit of simple OPL, so please be gentle! ;)

Gromit
DELTA

Re: Psion ii keyboard

Post by DELTA »

Hi,

Your post caught my eye, because today I had need to type all the letters of the Alphabet in their correct alphabetical order and really appreciated the layout of the Organiser II keyboard!

To answer your question though, I'd have thought it unlikely that a remap would be possible. However, you could try the Harvester Finger Organiser system which will remap your brain. It allocates keys to fingers in a series of 'palettes'. There are also speed tests that you can take to measure and improve your performance. I have found that it significantly increased my data entry rate.

Google Jaap Scherphuis and look on his PSION page for details.

Regards,

Dave.
Lostgallifreyan

Re: Psion ii keyboard

Post by Lostgallifreyan »

There are raw codes for the hardware key contacts that follow a logic dependent on how the circuit board tracks had to be laid, so mapping is already happening, so remapping is definitely possible, but in practise it's best NOT to do it.

Consider the standard QWERTY system... It's weird, and was designed to slow down the access to certain keys to make the access rate consistent for letters used by fast typists, while also putting the least-used characters at the periphery of the layout. It's been controversial for as long as it has existed, but consistency and habit keep it going.