Is there any way to reflash a Psion II?

Feel free to discuss any harware topic here
Post Reply
NickKostelidis
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:23 am
Location: Athens - Greece
Contact:

Is there any way to reflash a Psion II?

Post by NickKostelidis »

I have received today the Psion II you can see in the attached photo.
When I turned on for the first time it worked properly.
After a few seconds I got the screen you see in the photo.
After a few times of trying it worked again.
But now every time I turn it on I get the screen you see in the photo.
I think that If I can refresh the memory it will work.
Can anyone know if it is possible to reload the original firmware?
Thank you.
Attachments
IMG_20210511_132203.jpg
User avatar
MartinReid
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2021 3:44 pm

Re: Is there any way to reflash a Psion II?

Post by MartinReid »

Dear Nick

Although page 5 of the PSION Organiser Spare Parts List shows that the LZ (&LZ64) ROM is an EPROM. In all these years I've never heard of anyone 'reprogrmming' one. Peter may know better. A35040055 3504 0055 EPROM LZ ENG/SPN/ITA V4.6 IC5

On the other hand I think I've seen this before somewhere and it turned out to be poor connction between the board and the LCD screen. Could you try swapping out the board to see if you get the same with a different board (and ROM)

Gerry (here) does a teardown

Sincrely
Martin
NickKostelidis
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:23 am
Location: Athens - Greece
Contact:

Re: Is there any way to reflash a Psion II?

Post by NickKostelidis »

I think you are right Martin.
Sometimes I press with my fingers on the middle of the keyboard
and the organizer starts to work properly.
So somewhere inside there is a poor connection.
It is a pity for me that I have to "open" the organizer because it is very clear. You can see the warranty sticker on the back side.
I feel sorry that I have to remove it but it has to be done.
Unfortunately.....
Attachments
IMG_20210511_171711.jpg
Post Reply